Belmont St PeterEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Contents |
Chapelry History
Belmont St Peter's Chapelry was created by the year 1850 from Bolton, Little [All Saints] and in which both were created to serve parts of the large ancient of parish boundary of Bolton le Moors St Peter, Lancashire.
Other places in the parish include: Eagley Bank, Little Bolton Lower End, Little Bolton Higher End, and Horrocks Fold.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Church records
Online Records
Church of England
Bolton Le Moors All Saints chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Bolton Le Moors St. Peter to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg |
| BELMONT ST PETER'S Chapelry (1850) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| AC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | None | None | ||
| BOLTON Le MOORS (LITTLE BOLTON) ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1796) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1796-1859 | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| AC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | 1837-1886 - part. | 1857-1966 | |||
| BOLTON Le MOORS ST PETER PARISH (1573) Indexes (ancient parish containing BOLTON LE MOORS ALL SAINTS Chapelry) | |||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1573-1660; 1713-1829 | 1573-1837 | None | ||
| LOPC | 1573-1660 | 1573-1660; 1813-1938 | 1573-1660; 1712-1733; 1765-1801 | ||
| LBMD | 1837-1886 | 1837-1992 | 1837-1886 | ||
| AC | 1587-1660 | 1587-1660 | 1587-1660 | ||
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Belmont St Peter's Chapelry and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bolton Le Moors St. Peter to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BOLTON LE MOORS ST PETER PARISH page.
These chapelry registers will soon be deposited at the Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk following its re-opening after refurbishment.
The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306919. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Bolton, Lancashire Poor Law Union
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 30 October 2012, at 15:53.
- This page has been accessed 101 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More