Belchalwell, DorsetEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Dorset
Dorset Parishes
Contents |
Parish History
BELLCHALWELL, a parish in Sturminster district, Dorset; 3 miles S of Sturminster, and 6½ WNW of Blandford r. station. Post Town, Turnworth, under Blandford. Acres, 1,308. Real property, with Fifehead-Neville, £3,188.[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1840-1906 | Ancestry[3] | 1813-1919 | Ancestry[4] | 1820-1999 | Ancestry[5] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1733-1838 | FreeREG[6] | 1739-1839 | FreeREG[6] | 1737-1839 | FreeREG[6] | |||||||||||||
| 1733-1838 | OnlineParishClerks | 1739-1839 | OnlineParishClerks | 1737-1861 | OnlineParishClerks | ||||||||||||||
| 1739-1837 | Joiner[7] | ||||||||||||||||||
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.
- FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
- ↑ Wilson, John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870
- ↑ Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
- ↑ Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
- ↑ Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
- ↑ Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 Dorset Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 21 May 2012.
- ↑ 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 June 2012.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 7 February 2013, at 18:41.
- This page has been accessed 214 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More