Beaver County, UtahEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Beaver County, Utah genealogy. Birth records, marriage and death records, cemeteries, census, church records, probate records, and obituaries—resources to find parents and family history since 1856, when the county was formed.
| Dates for major county records[1] | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| 1898-present | 1887-present | 1900-present | 1856, 1860... | 1867-present | 1856-present |
| For earlier dates, try... Church · Obituaries · Cemeteries · Parent Counties | |||||
| Beaver County, Utah | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Utah | |||||||
![]() Location of Utah in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | January 10, 1856 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Beaver | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | County Administration Building Post Office Box 392 105 East Center Beaver UT 84713 | ||||||
| Website: www.beaver.utah.gov | |||||||
| |||||||
Helpful Facts
County Court House
Beaver County Courthouse
105 E Center, PO Box 392
Beaver, Ut 84713-0392
Phone: 435-438-6463
County Clerk has birth records 1897-1905, divorce records from 1871, probate records from 1872 and court records from 1856. The Beaver City Office has burned records.[2]
Parent Counties
Beaver County, Utah was created Jan 10, 1856 from: Iron and Millard Counties.
| Before 1856—and perhaps until the newly-formed county was fully operational—search records of the parent counties. |
Boundary Changes
See UT: Index of Counties... from Newberry Library's Utah Atlas of Historical County Boundaries, for a timeline of boundary changes for Beaver County, Utah.
Neighboring Counties
Beaver County, Utah is surrounded by: Garfield · Iron · Millard · Piute · Sevier counties in Utah and Lincoln County, Nevada
Resources
Bible Records
The term "Bible records" refers to the practice of keeping family dates and events in a family Bible. This was a common practice in many European countries and carried over to America. Many of these family Bible records are still in existence and preserved by the descendants of the immigrants. In some cases these family Bibles have found their way into libraries and other repositories.
For an explanation of how to find Bible records and for helpful links see Utah Bible Records. See also United States Bible Records.
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Mining Industry
The mining industry in Beaver county created several boom towns, most of which are now ghost towns.
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, death, relationship, military, and religious information. The spouse and children who died young are frequently buried nearby.
More than tombstone inscriptions, cemetery records include sextons (caretakers) records and interment (burial) records, each with slightly different information. See Utah Cemeteries.
| | ||
| or Images |
Transcripts |
in the County |
|
FindAGrave |
FamilySearch Library |
FindAGrave |
| | ||
Census
- The 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 U.S. federal population schedules of Beaver County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Utah Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in national indexes, try checking local indexes. Created by experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide indexes.
- See Utah Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes. 1856, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1890, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930
- Census records. of Beaver County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. repositories.
Churches and Religious Groups
Church and religious group records are usually found in the towns rather than on the county level.
- Church Records. of Beaver County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. repositories.
Catholic
Episcopal
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (the Mormons)
Early church records, for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, for Beaver County Wards and Branches can be found on film and are located at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
| Beaver County LDS wards and branches: history and records |
| Stakes: Beaver Stake, Utah (covers the entire county) Places: Adamsville · Beaver · Frisco · Grampton: See Frisco · Greenville · Manderfield · Milford · Minersville · Newhouse · North Creek · |
Court Records
- Court records. of Beaver County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. repositories.
Directories
Ethnic and Other Groups
Funeral Homes
Southern Utah Mortuary[3]
195 North 90 East
Beaver, UT 84713
Phone: 877-438-2201
Fax: 435-438-2323
298 South 100 West
Milford, UT 84751
Phone: 435-5886-4040
Toll Free Phone: 888-586-4040
Fax: 435-586-4343
Swindlehurst Funeral Home [4]
360 West 100 North
Beaver, UT 84713
Phone: 435-439-5565
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
- Bradley, Martha Sonntag. A history of Beaver County, Utah Centennial County History Series of Utah State Historical Society.
- Daughters of the Utah Pioneers of Beaver County, Utah. Monuments to Courage: A History of Beaver County Beaver, UT: The Beaver Press, 1948. Online at Sherratt Library Digital Collections, SUU. Searchable.
- Histories. of Beaver County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. repositories.
History Timeline
See UT: Index of Counties... from Newberry Library's Utah Atlas of Historical County Boundaries, for a timeline of boundary changes for Beaver County, Utah.
Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Wikipedia for Beaver County, Utah and towns within the county.- 1776. Southern Piute Indians inhabited the area when the Dominguez-Escalante Expedition visited the area.
- 1856 January. Beaver County created by the Utah Territorial Legislature from Iron and Millard Counties.
- 1856. Mormon settlers from Cedar City founded the city of Beaver, Utah. By 1869, there were enough people to organize a stake.
- 1873. Ft. Cameron was established by the U.S. Army and abandoned after World War I (1914-1918).
- 1880. Arrival of the Utah Southern Railroad increased development.
- 1880s. Mining increased development. Mining declined after World War I (1914-1918).
- 1918-. After World War I ended, Ft. Cameron was abandoned and mining declined.
Land and Property
- Land and property records. of Beaver County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. repositories.
County Recorder's Office: check deeds, file mining claims, get assistance in finding ownership of a particular property, and obtain copies of county plat maps. This office has county plat records dating back to 1878, prior records having been destroyed in a fire.
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Beaver County, Utah for emigrant settlers included:
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah[5] :
- Mormon Trail to Southern California 1847 from Salt Lake City, Utah to Los Angeles, California[6] :*Union Pacific Railroad 1869 Ogden, Utah (among others) to Omaha, Nebraska[7]
Military
- World War II (1941–1945) army enlistments at the county GenWeb site has about 400 entries, mostly from Beaver and Salt Lake Counties. Key (at end of the list)explains codes and columns. Gives year and state of birth. Free.
Naturalization and Citizenship
- Utah, State Archives Records, 1848-2001, a FamilySearch digital collection, contains certificates of naturalization, 1878-1896 and 1896-1933; declaration of intentions 1874-1896 and a1904-1906; petition and record 1907-1942.
Newspapers
Small town newspapers contain obituaries, birth or death notices, community news (such as the visit of someone's relatives), legal notices and provide historical content. See Utah newspapers for tips, resources, and details.
Resources include:
- Utah Digital Newspapers Project presents newspaper images online. Search All Newspapers by name or keywords, or Browse by County to view all newspapers digitized for Beaver County, Utah.
- The Southern Utonian and Beaver City Press, covering 1881-1929 are included.
- List of existing copies of. newspapers for Beaver County, Utah are listed in Chronicling America by Library of Congress (LOC).
- The list by dates and towns (from Chronicling America)
Obituaries
Obituaries may mention birth, marriage, spouse, parents, and living family members. See Utah Obituaries for state level compendiums and United States Obituaries for tips and insights regarding this record type.
Obituaries for residents may be found in:
- Newspapers of Beaver County, Utah
- Local Funeral Homes, Societies, Libraries, or in family records.
- Obituaries of neighboring counties: Garfield, Iron, Millard, Piute, and Sevier counties in Utah and Lincoln County, Nevada
- Newspapers of major cities: Deseret News and/or The Salt Lake Tribune both in Salt Lake City
Periodicals
Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.
In Utah, such records may be difficult to find. Try records of the church they may have attended. Realize, however, that such records may have not been preserved, and would not be in the typical records of membership.
It is possible there were records kept by civilian authorities. Ask town or county officials and local librarians and the State Archives. Also try National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (online).
Probate Records
- Probate records. of Beaver County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. repositories.
Public Records
Taxation
Vital Records
- Vital Records. of Beaver County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. repositories.
Birth
- Below are the best sources to find birth information (dates and places of birth and names of parents) for Beaver County, Utah. Also available: How to Find Birth Information in Utah.
- Follow the suggestions under the year span that matches when your ancestor was born:
Birth before 1856
- Beaver County, Utah was formed in January 10, 1856.
search Parent Counties.
| Before county formation, go to Utah Censuses to locate the family around the time of birth. |
Birth 1856 - 1897
- No birth records were created for Beaver County, Utah by either by county or state civil authorities in this time period.
- Follow these suggestions to find birth information for this time period:
- Utah Death Certificates 1904-1961 give birth date and place (recorded at the time of death), names of parents, and name of spouse. Search by names or by exact death date.
- Church records usually give birth date and place and names of parents.
- See also other records that give birth information, such as Death records · Census · Cemeteries · Obituaries
- See also neighboring counties for birth information, due to family members living in that area, religious preferences, convenience, and other reasons.
Birth 1898 - present
- County clerks became responsible for recording births beginning in 1898.[8] In 1905, the State Department of Health assumed responsibility and required the counties to forward copies of the records to them.
| It took a few years after the requirements for people, doctors, midwives, and officials to comply, so some early birth registrations were missed. |
- Records open to the public
- Birth records created more than 100 years ago[9] are open to the public.
- Online index to births 1897–1905 Series 83773 for Beaver County, Utah by the Utah State Archives. (Free) Search by names of parents, as many entries do not give the child's name. Each entry includes date of birth, sex, residence, etc. There is one record of birth for December 1897.
- FamilySearch Library copy: FHL film 485235 item 1-2 .
- Idea: use censuses and church records to learn those missing children's names.
- 1906-1910 online images for Beaver County, Utah at the State Archives. Browse the "not yet indexed" area by year and county. Most entries do have names of children.
- Later records open to the public are housed at the Utah State Archives, but not online.
- Online Utah, Births and Christenings, 1892-1941, a FamilySearch Historical Records Collection. (Index only, free). Created from the old IGI, this is a mix of some extracted records and submissions by patrons. Please realize it is not complete.
- Online index to births 1897–1905 Series 83773 for Beaver County, Utah by the Utah State Archives. (Free) Search by names of parents, as many entries do not give the child's name. Each entry includes date of birth, sex, residence, etc. There is one record of birth for December 1897.
- Restricted records
- Access to official birth records within 100 years is restricted to those who meet certain requirements. Order copies:
- Office of Vital Records and Statistics, 288 North 1460 West, Salt Lake City, Utah, Phone: (801) 538-6105. How to order online, by mail, or in person.
- Southwest Utah Public Health Department (Beaver County) PO BOX G Beaver, UT 84713 Phone: (435) 438-2108
Marriage
- 1887-1937 - Western States Marriage Index. Includes Beaver County 1887-1937.[10] See also Statewide collections.
Death
Utah requires a death certificate before a burial is completed. A death certificate may contain information as to the name of the deceased, date of death, and place of death, as well as the age, birth date, parents, gender, marital status, spouse and place of residence.
- 1900-1905 - Beaver County Death Registers (1900-1905) at Utah State Archives - free. FHL film 485235 item 2.
- 1900-1905 - Beaver County, Utah Deaths, 1900-05 at Ancestry ($). *1904 - deaths This county GenWeb site contains about 45 entries which are user submitted. (May not be complete). Click on a filename to see details entered from state death certificates. Free.
- 1904-1956 - Utah Death Certificates 1904 - 1956 A free internet access to the 1904-1956 death certificates can be viewed at Family History Library Catalog.
Death Record Substitutes
- 1870 - U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 at Ancestry ($). Includes 1870 Beaver County, Utah mortality schedule.
- 1870 - U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 at Ancestry ($). Includes 1870 Beaver County, Utah mortality schedule.
- Utah State Burial Index for death before 1904
Voting Registers
Repositories
Resources for Beaver County, Utah are available in repositories (such as libraries and archives) at all levels: the town, the county, the state, and the nation. Check their websites and catalogs for Beaver County, Utah items.
| When you find useful items, see Get a Copy (through the Internet, libraries, record holders, and services). |
See Courthouse · FamilySearch Centers · Libraries · Museums · Other Repositories · Societies sections.
See also: Websites
Courthouse
Beaver County, Utah Website
County Administration Building
Post Office Box 392
105 East Center
Beaver UT 84713 Beaver County doesn't have a main switchboard, and each department has its own mailing address. To get individual phone numbers, fax numbers, and mailing addresses, go to that department's page or check the Officials page. [11]
FamilySearch Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family Search Centers
- Beaver Utah Family Search Center
- Milford Utah Family Search Center
Libraries
Local public libraries usually have histories, genealogies, indexes of cemeteries, copies of local newspapers, or other records for the area they serve. Many libraries in Utah have an area dedicated to local collections and manuscripts.
- Beaver Public Library; 55 W Center Street, Beaver, Utah 84713-1092; Phone 435-438-5274; Fax 435-438-5826
- Collections:
- Milford Public Library[1]; 100 W 400 S, Milford, Utah 84751; Phone: 435-387-5039; Fax: 435-387-5027
- Collections:
- Minersville Public Library; 40 W. Main, Minersville, Utah 84752-0250; Phone: 435-386-2267; Fax: 435-386-1813
- Collections:
Check for Beaver County, Utah items in catalogs and holdings of: Utah Archives and Libraries · University Libraries and Special Collections in Utah · United States Archives and Libraries
See also Utah Public Library Directory, which provides links to library web pages, addresses, phone numbers, hours, and maps. Does not mention holdings.
Museums
Other repositories
Societies
Towns and Communities
The mining industry in Beaver county created several boom towns, most of which are now ghost towns.
| |||||||||||||||
References
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 676-677. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Beaver County, Utah Page 686 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Funeral Home <nowiki>&</nowiki> Cemetery Directory.(Youngstown, OH: Nomis Publications, Inc., c2009,937.
- ↑ Funeral Home <nowiki>&</nowiki> Cemetery Directory.(Youngstown, OH: Nomis Publications, Inc., c2009,937.
- ↑ "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "Jefferson Hunt" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_Hunt (accessed 6 September 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Union Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).
- ↑ Utah State Archives, Birth Records guide, accessed 28 July 2012.)
- ↑ State Department of Health Birth, Marriage, and Death Certificates page. Accessed 7/31/2012
- ↑ "Beaver County, Utah: Family History and Genealogy, Census, Birth, Marriage, Death Vital Records and More," Linkpendium, http://www.linkpendium.com/genealogy/USA/UT/Beaver/, accessed 1 February 2012.
- ↑ County Website
| ||||||||||||
|}
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 May 2013, at 01:24.
- This page has been accessed 8,020 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



