Badingham, SuffolkEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Suffolk
Hoxne Hundred
Suffolk Parishes
Badingham
Parish History
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Year | Pop. | |
| 1801 | 607 | |
| 1841 | 864 | |
| 1851 | 794 | |
| 1871 | 707 | |
| 1891 | 598 | |
| Source: Censuses Size: 5 Sq. miles | ||
|
Laxfield | Laxfield Ubbeston | Heveningham |
|
| Dennington | |
Peasenhall : Bruisyard ::Cransford | ||
| | ||||
| | ||||
| Framlingham | Framlingham | Cransford |
Resources
If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers. Refer to Badingham and Suffolk in the Family History Library Catalog for available records.
Civil Registration
Badingham was in Hoxne district till 1907 at which time it was moved into Hartismere District. In 1907 Hoxne district was abolished. To search an index of Hoxne or Hartismere district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.
| ||||||
Church records
The Parish Registers begin in 1538. They can be view at the Suffolk Record Office. A copy of the registers from 1538 to 1900 can be puchased from the Suffolk Record Office. For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. Parish Chest records are missing for Badingham. See Suffolk Church Record for further details.
- A transcription of gravestones as of 2008
Census records
There are census records available for Badingham from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Badingham Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.
| | ||||
| | ||||
| |
||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
Probate records
Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Badingham was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District. Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.
Maps and Gazetteers
- Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other items.
- National Gazetteers provide a brief description of each place
- Vision of Britain - Badingham, is a parish is near the river Alde, in Hoxne district, Suffolk; it is 3½ miles N E of Framlingham railway station.....[2]
- British History Online - BADINGHAM (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 14 miles (N. by E.) from Woodbridge. [3]
- England Jurisdictions 1851 maps - see parish in context with surrounding parishes also determine various ecclesiastical and civil jurisdictions for this parish
- Badingham on Google maps - see lay of the land as it is today
Web Sites
References
- ↑ William White, 1844, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Suffolk; page 450, 451]
- ↑ Wilson, John Marius, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Badingham
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 128-132
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 April 2013, at 21:53.
- This page has been accessed 1,471 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
