Auckland St Anne, DurhamEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Durham
Durham Parishes
Contents |
Parish History
Auckland St Anne began as achapel of ease to the Ancientparish of Auckland St Andrew, Durham. In 1782 it became a parish.[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/12 Date: March 1765-1851
Contents: Includes transcripts for Escomb, May 1795-1803 DDR/EA/PBT/2/102 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
The Parish Registers for the period 1855-1988 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL ( EP/Au.SAn).
Non Conformist Churches
Methodist
- Circuit Registers: Baptisms 1912-1936
- Circuit Registers (Primitive): Baptisms 1859-1945
- Circuit Registers (Wesleyan): Baptisms 1838-1962.
- Newgate (Unitarian): Baptisms 1934-1938, Marriages 1915-1959
- South Road (Unitarian): Baptisms 1905-1935
Unitarian:
- Baptisms 1876-1904
Roman Catholic
- St. Wilfred: Baptisms, marriages & burials 1849-1916
Society of Friends
- Bishop Auckland Preparative Meeting: 1715-1894
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241352. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Auckland Poor Law Union, Durham
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 112-116.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 13 February 2013, at 20:42.
- This page has been accessed 378 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More