Atherton, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Guide to Atherton, Lancashire family history and genealogy. Parish registers (baptism, christening, marriage, and burial records), civil registration (birth, marriage, and death records), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and websites.
Contents |
Chapelry History
Atherton St John the Baptist is a chapelry created in 1722 from, and lying within the boundaries of the ancient parish of Leigh, Lancashire.
For an excellent 19th Century historical perspective, see Samuel A. Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England about this chapelry.
There were places of worship for Unitarians and Baptists.[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Church records
Online Records
Atherton chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Leigh to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk |
| ATHERTON ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1724) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1724-1899 | 1854-1900 | 1799-1830 | ||
| LOPC | 1724-1905 | 1724-1753; 1850-1925 | 1724-1857 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1853-1950 | None | ||
| LEIGH ST MARY'S PARISH (1558) Indexes (ancient parish containing ATHERTON) | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1559-1872 | 1701-1845 | 1753-1857 | ||
| LOPC | 1700-1901 | 1560-1901 | 1660-1856 | ||
| FMP | None | None | |||
| LBMD | None | 1837-1950 | None | ||
| AC | 1558-1700 | 1558-1700 | 1558-1700 | ||
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Atherton and comprising the whole ancient parish of Leigh to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LEIGH PARISH page.
Parish registers for St. John the Baptist's Church, Atherton, 1778-1959 Microfilm of original records at the Wigan Record Office, Leigh, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, England; and formerly heldat the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.
Atherton was once a chapelry in the parish of Leigh. In 1859 it became a parish in its own right.
The name of the church is St. John the Baptist.
Manchester Central Library call nos.: L 177/1/2/5-6; L 177/1/3/3-9, L 177/1/4/2-3.
| Content |
Film |
| Baptisms, 1778-1899. |
FHL BRITISH Film 1885669 |
| Baptisms, 1899-1923. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356302 Items 6 - 7 |
| Marriages, 1853-1900. |
FHL BRITISH Film 1885670 |
| Marriages, December 1899-June 1901. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356302 Item 8 |
| Marriages, June 1907-June 1925. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356303 Items 1 - 3 |
| Marriages, 1925-1941. Burials, 1852-1857. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2148109 Items 1 - 3 |
| Marriages, November 1941-1949. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356303 Item 4 |
| Burials, 1778-1857. |
FHL BRITISH Film 1885671 |
| Burials, May 1950-1959. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2356303 Item 5 |
| Another partial filming. Baptisms, 1778-1841. Burials, 1778-1852. |
FHL BRITISH Film 865052 |
Bishop's transcripts for Leigh, 1602-1853 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Contains baptisms, marriages and burials of Leigh parish including the following chapelries: Astley, Atherton, Ellenbrook (in Eccles parish), Peel or Little Hulton (in Deane parish), Tyldesley and Bedford.
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/111-119
| Content |
Film |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1712-1790. (Includes the chapelries of Astley and Atherton from 1724. Includes the chapelries of Astley, Atherton, Ellenbrook from 1758, and Peel or Little Hulton, 1774-1775). |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545557 |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials of Leigh, 1791-1816. Includes the Chapelries of Astley and Atherton. |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545558 |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials of Leigh, 1817-1823. Includes the chapelries of Astley and Atherton. |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545559 |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials of Leigh, 1824-1830. Includes baptisms and burials for Astley and Atherton, 1824-1830 and for Tyldesley, 1825-1829 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545560 |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials of Leigh, 1831-1837; baptisms and burials, 1838. Includes Astley and Atherton. |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545561 |
| Baptisms and burials of Leigh and Atherton, 1839-1846; baptisms and burials of Astley, 1839-1842 and of St. Stephen's Church in Astley, 1843-1853; baptisms of Bedford, 1841. |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545573 Items 1 - 3 |
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306901. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Leigh, Lancashire Poor Law Union
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 108-112. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50769 Date accessed: 25 June 2010
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 20 May 2013, at 05:49.
- This page has been accessed 526 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
