Aspull, St John the Baptist, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Contents |
History
Aspull St John the Baptist, Kirkless Street New Springs was created as an Ecclesiastical Parish in 1871.
ASPULL, a township and a subdistrict in Wigan district, Lancashire. The township is in Wigan-parish, 3 miles NE of Wigan; and has a post office, of the name of Aspull-Moor, under Wigan. Acres, 1,879. Real property, £27,184; of which £19,863 are in mines. Pop., 4,290. Houses, 783. The inhabitants are employed chiefly in collieries and cotton mills. There are a school-church, Independent, Wesleyan, and Roman Catholic chapels, and four public schools. The subdistrict comprises three townships. Pop., 8,372. Houses, 1,534.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Church records
Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Parish registers for St. John the Baptist's Church, Aspull, 1871-1895 Microfilm copy of original records at the Wigan Record Office, Leigh, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, England.
| Content |
Film |
| Baptisms, 1871-1895. |
FHL BRITISH Film 1885732 Items 1 - 2 |
Census records
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. |
Poor Law Unions
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- England Jurisdictions 1851 the parish was created after 1851 refer to Haigh and Aspull, Lancashire
* Vision of Britain
Web sites
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 September 2012, at 12:08.
- This page has been accessed 251 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
