Ashworth, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Guide to Ashworth, Lancashire family history and genealogy. Parish registers (baptism, christening, marriage, and burial records), civil registration (birth, marriage, and death records), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and websites.
Contents |
Chapelry History
ASHWORTH, a parochial chapelry in the parish of Middleton, union of Bury, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 3½ miles west of Rochdale. The chapel, was dedicated to St James. The burial-ground commands an extensive view of the adjacent hills and vales.[1]
Ashworth St James is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Lancashire, created in 1735 from chapelry in Middleton, Lancashire Ancient Parish. It became a parish in 1866.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Online Records
Ashworth chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Middleton to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk |
| ASHWORTH ST JAMES Chapelry (1813) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1813-1869 | 1813-1845 | 1836-1869 | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | None | None | ||
| MIDDLETON ST LEONARD PARISH (1541) Indexes (ancient parish containing ASHWORTH) | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1541-1752 | ||||
| LOPC | 1695-1874 | 1541-1836 | 1541-1874 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1837-1974 | None | ||
| FMP | None | 1541-1752 | None | ||
| AC | 1541-1752 | 1541-1752 | 1541-1752 | ||
| FREG | 1541-1630, 1653-1729 | 1541-1644, 1658-1729 | 1641-1729 | ||
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Ashworth and comprising the whole ancient parish of Middleton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the MIDDLETON PARISH page.
Parish registers, St. James' Church, Ashworth (Lancashire), 1813-1958 Microfilm of original records in the Manchester Central Library, Manchester. Ashworth was a chapelry in the parish of Middleton until 1735, at which time it became a separate ecclesiastical parish. It became a separate civil parish in 1866. The chapel is dedicated to St. James.Manchester Central Library call nos.: L 101/1/1/3-8, L 101/1/3/2-4.
| Contents |
Film |
| Baptisms, 1813-1843; marriages, 1824-1835; burials, 1813-1848. |
FHL BRITISH Film 559155 |
| Baptisms, 1813-1843; marriages, 1824-1835; burials, 1813-1848 (another filming). |
VAULT BRITISH Film 2148026 |
| Inventory of church records. Baptisms, 1843-1958. Burials, 1848-1913. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2148027 |
Bishop's transcripts for Ashworth, 1813-1869 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston. Bishop's transcripts of the chapelry of Ashworth in the parish of Middleton in Lancashire, England. Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/231a-233
| Content |
Film |
| Baptisms, 1813-1846; marriages, 1824-1825, 1832-1835, 1838-1846; burials, 1813-1846. |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545704 Items 3 - 4 |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1846; Baptisms and burials, 1847-1869. |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545705 Items 1 - 2 |
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306928. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Bury Poor Law Union, Lancashire
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53024 British History Online Ashworth
References
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 96-100. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50766 Date accessed: 25 June 2010.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 5 June 2013, at 20:41.
- This page has been accessed 526 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
