Ashton upon Ribble St Andrew, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Guide to Ashton upon Ribble St Andrew, Lancashire family history and genealogy. Parish registers (baptism, christening, marriage, and burial records), civil registration (birth, marriage, and death records), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and websites.
Contents |
Chapelry History
Ashton upon Ribble St Andrew was created a chapelry in 1836 from Preston St John ancient parish.
Ashton-on-Ribble is a suburb of Preston, Lancashire, England.
The terms Ashton-on-Ribble and Ashton are often used synonymously, although Ashton is a specific electoral ward whilst Ashton-on-Ribble is a term applied more generally to much of the west of Preston.
The settlement of Ashton-on-Ribble was recorded in the Domesday Book. Ashton was named after a family called Estun who lived in the area at the time of the Domesday book's compilation, although it is not known exactly where they lived.
The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.
ASHTON, or ASHTON-UPON-RIBBLE, with Lea, Cottam, and Ingol, a township [with a chapel; see highlight below], in the parish and union of Preston, hundred of Amounderness, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 2 miles west by north of Preston. The township has been formed into an ecclesiastical district with a chapel. The church, dedicated to St. Andrew, was built in 1836.[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Church records
Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306887. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Preston Poor Law Union, Lancashire
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References
- ↑ A Roman Catholic chapel was built at Lea, in the year 1800.  A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 90-96. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50765 Adapted. Date accessed: 25 June 2010.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 20 May 2013, at 05:46.
- This page has been accessed 244 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
