Ashfield with Thorpe, SuffolkEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Suffolk
Suffolk Parishes
Ashfield with Thorpe
Contents |
Parish History
Ashfield or Ashfield-with-Thorpe, is a parish in Bosmere district, Suffolk; it is 2 miles ESE of Debenham, and 9 miles NE of Needham railway station. The post town is, Debenham under Stonham.[1]|
|
This section requires expansion with: a summary overview of the history of this parish. |
|
Kenton | Monk Soham |
| |
| Debenham | |
Earl Soham | ||
| | ||||
| | ||||
| Winston | Framsden | Cretingham |
Resources
If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers. Refer to Ashfield with Thorpe and Suffolk in the Family History Library Catalog for available records. Commonly referred to as Ashfield. There is also a parish named Great Ashfield elswhere in the county.
Civil Registration
Ashfield is in Bosmere district. To search an index of Bosmere district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.
Church records
The Parish Registers begin in 1693. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Bosmere Deanery, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. Parish Chest records are lacking for Ashfield. See Suffolk Church Records for further details.
Census records
There are census records available for Ashfield from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Ashfield, England, Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.
Probate records
Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Earl Soham (Catalogued Soham Earl) was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District. Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
- ↑ Wilson, John Mauris, Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales, publ. London & Edinburgh: 1870
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 January 2013, at 15:47.
- This page has been accessed 248 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
