Ardwick, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Contents |
Chapelry History
Ardwick St Thomas is a chapel created in 1740.
ARDWICK, a township with two ecclesiastical district chapels, including St Thomas and St Silas--both lying within the parish and borough of Manchester, union of Chorlton, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 1 mile (S. E. by E.) from Manchester. St Thomas Chapelry was built by the year 1740.
The chapel of St. Silas' was built in 1841. The Wesleyans and Independents have places of worship; and there is a public cemetery of eight acres, opened in 1838.[1]
By the year 1880, Ardwick township had at least four chapelries built within it, and all resided within the parish boundary of, and under the ecclesiastical jurisdiction of Manchester Cathedral (Our Lady, St George & St Denys).
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
for both the post-civil registration time period (after 1837) and especially for finding ancestry in the pre-1837 time period.
Church records
Online Records
| FS =FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk | |||||
| FMP = FMP = FindMyPast | |||||
| LBMD = Lancashire BMD | |||||
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk |
| ARDWICK ST BENEDICT Chapelry (1880) Indexes | |||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||
| FS | 1880-1910 | 1880-1930 | None Extant | ||||
| LBMD | 1880-1917 | 1880-2000 | 1837-1882 | ||||
| ARDWICK ST MATTHEW Chapelry (1865) Indexes | |||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||
| FS | 1865-1910 | 1869-1928 | None Extant | ||||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||||
| LBMD | 1869-1971 | 1856-1971 | 1837-1882 | ||||
| ARDWICK ST SILAS Chapelry (1842) Indexes | |||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||
| FS | 1842-1910 | 1742-1844 | None Extant | ||||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||||
| FREG | None | 1856-1907 | None | ||||
| LBMD | 1837-1936 | 1856-1954 | 1837-1882 | ||||
| ARDWICK ST THOMAS Chapelry (1740) Indexes | |||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||
| FS | 1740-1910 | 1740-1930 | 1740-1842 | ||||
| LOPC | 1740-1876 | 1742-1863 | 1741-1856 | ||||
| LBMD | 1837-1936 | 1873-1976 | 1837-1882 | ||||
|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) - The Parish - Indexes | |||||||||||
|
|
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||||||||
| FS | 1573-1872 | 1573-1889 | None | ||||||||
| LOPC | 1573-1616;1777-1837 | 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs | 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1837-1881 | 1837-1946 | 1837-1881 | ||||||||
| AC | 1573-1616 | 1573-1616 | 1573-1616 | ||||||||
Ardwick is one of about 150 chapels comprising the whole of Manchester Parish's boundary (by 1880). The 'mother' or ancient parish of Manchester City is Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys Cathedral, which see (below).
If you do not locate your ancestor in the above chapelry links above and in Manchester Cathedral links (below), and before researching in any other Lancashire parish, you must include a thorough search into all of Manchester City's attached chapelries (over 150 of them)! Unfortunately, Manchester Cathedral (the parish) is England's largest parish thus each chapelry baptisms, marriage and burial registers (where extant) must be searched. To see and then search what's online for each one of Manchester City's chapelries and district churches--view a complete list of all its chapels HERE (scroll down to "Church Records").
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306916. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 44-49. Adapted. Date accessed: 25 June 2010.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 September 2012, at 12:13.
- This page has been accessed 205 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More