Ancoats St Martin, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Contents |
Parish History
Ancoats St Martin is a chapelry or chapel of ease built in the year 1867. It stood within the boundary of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys] Cathedral and Ancient Parish.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Church records
Online Records
Church of England
Ancoats St Martin was a district chapelry and with all its additional contemporary chapelries (5 others) comprised the township of Ancoats. It possessed chapelry registers of baptisms and marriages only. These have been indexed or transcribed and are available online at no cost, as follows:
| ANCOATS ST MARTIN Chapelry (1865) Indexes | |||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||
| FS | 1866-1906 | 1875-1906 | None Extant | ||||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||||
| LBMD | 1865-1917 | 1874-1906 | 1865-1882 | ||||
| ANCOATS ALL SOULS Chapelry (1840) Indexes | |||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||
| FS | 1837-1908 | 1846-1928 | None Extant | ||||
| LOPC | 1840-1876 | None | None | ||||
| LBMD | 1840-1917 | 1846-1981 | 1837-1882 | ||||
| ANCOATS CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1844) Indexes - a dissenters chapel after 1857 | |||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||
| FS | 1837-1917 | 1814-1930 - part. | 1837-1882 | ||||
| ANCOATS ST ANDREWS Chapelry (1831) Indexes | |||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||
| FS | 1827-1910 | None | 1831-1855 | ||||
| LOPC | 1831-1860 | None | None | ||||
| LBMD | 1837-1917 | 1838-1912 | 1837-1882 | ||||
| ANCOATS ST JAMES THE LESS Chapelry (1867) Indexes | |||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||
| FS | 1874-1920 - part. | 1871-1930 - part. | None Extant | ||||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||||
| LBMD | 1867-1917 | 1871-1920 | 1867-1882 | ||||
| ANCOATS ST JUDE Chapelry (1837) Indexes | |||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||
| FS | 1837-1910 | 1856-1930 | None Extant | ||||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||||
| LBMD | 1837-1917 | 1849-1954 | 1837-1882 - covered Ancoats | ||||
| ANCOATS ST PETER Chapelry (1860) - see under MANCHESTER | |||||||
Ancoats St Martin is one of six chapels comprising the township, Ancoats; and it was one of at least 150 chapels in total, which subdivided the whole of Manchester Parish's vast boundary (by 1880).
The 'mother' or ancient parish of Manchester City is the Cathedral of Manchester, called Our Lady, St George and St Denys Cathedral.
|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes | |||||||||||
|
|
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||||||||
| FS | 1573-1872 | 1573-1889 | None | ||||||||
| LOPC | 1573-1616;1777-1837 | 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs | 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1837-1881 | 1837-1946 | 1837-1881 | ||||||||
| AC | 1573-1616 | 1573-1616 | 1573-1616 | ||||||||
If you do not locate your ancestor in the list of Ancoats chapelry links and in Manchester Cathedral links listed above, be certain before you research in any other Lancashire parish, you include a thorough search all of Manchester City's attached chapelries (over 150 of them)! Unfortunately, Manchester Cathedral (the parish) is England's largest parish; thus each chapelry's baptism, marriage and burial registers (where extant) must be searched. To help you identify all of Manchester's chapelries, and then search what's online for each one of Manchester City's chapelries and district churches--view a complete list of all its chapels--HERE (scroll down to "Church Records").
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438728. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 September 2012, at 12:00.
- This page has been accessed 137 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More