Alvaston, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Alvaston

Contents

Parish History

Alvaston is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1772 from chapelry in  Derby St Michael, Derbyshire Ancient Parish.

ALVASTON, a chapelry, in the parish of St. Michael, Derby, union of Shardlow, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 3½ miles (S. E. by E.) from Derby. It was esteemed a chapelry in the 12th century; church registers begin from 1614. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Church records

Alvaston St Michael and All Angels Originally a parish chapelry in the Derby St Michael, Derbyshire parish Included Allenton until 1935

The registers need to be read in conjunction with those of Boulton, Derbyshire The sequence of Baptism and burials registers for 1614-1754 will be found to contain Boulton, Derbyshire events.Boulton, Derbyshire contains baptisms and burials for 1797-1809 which are for this parish events.

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 878 & D 1532 has deposited registers Bap 1614-1994  Mar 1614-1750, 1754-1992 Burials 1614-1992 Banns 1754-1812, 1903-1916, 1931-1938

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1662-1880 Marr 1662-1836 Bur  1662-1880 Missing Bap/Bur 1857

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241293. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Reference

  1. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 49-53. Adapted. Date accessed: 13 March 2011.<br>

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 March 2013, at 16:27.
  • This page has been accessed 368 times.