Alton, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Alton St Peter Staffordshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

ALVETON, or Alton (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Cheadle, S. division of the hundred of Totmonslow, N. division of the county of Stafford, 4½ miles (E. by S.) from Cheadle; comprising the townships of Alton, Cotton, Denston, and Farley. There is a chapel at Cotton. The Calvinistic, Wesleyan, and Primitive Methodists have places of worship; and a Roman Catholic chapelhas been erected.[1]

Cotton St John the Baptist was formed from this parish.

Cotton St John the Baptist Staffordshire.jpg

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Alton St Peter Ancient Parish

  • Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1681-1900 Mar 1681-1965 Bur 1681-1952
  • Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1676-1852 Mar 1676-1852 Bur 1676-1852

Cotton St John the Baptist was formed in 1796 formerly a township in this parish Bap and Burials were recorded in this parish until 1918; the Cotton church was licensed for marriages from 1944

  • Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1795-1809 Mar none Bur none refer to the Alton Bishop's transcripts above for Cotton events.
  • Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire FreeREG and can be searched for free.

Cemetery Records

The following MIs from were kindly contributed by Alf Beard:


Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474630. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

 

Poor Law Unions

Cheadle Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 49-53. Date accessed: 12 October 2012.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2012, at 19:04.
  • This page has been accessed 498 times.