Almondbury, YorkshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes
West Riding
Almondbury
Contents |
Parish History
ALMONDBURY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Huddersfield, Upper division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, West Riding, Yorkshire, 1¾ mile (S. E.) from Huddersfield, on the old road to Sheffield; comprising the townships of Almondbury, Austonley, North and South Crossland, Farnley-Tyas, Holme, Honley, Lingards, Linthwaite, Lockwood, Marsden, Meltham, Nether Thong, and Upper Thong; and the hamlets of Berrybrow, Crossland Moor, Deanhouse, Meltham Mills, Longley, Lowerhouses, Netherton, and Rashcliffe. The living is a vicarage. There are also churches at Holme-Bridge, Crossland, Farnley-Tyas, Lingards, Linthwaite, Meltham, Meltham-Mills, Lockwood, Marsden, Nether Thong, Upper Thong, Milns-Bridge, Armitage-Bridge, Rashcliffe and Honley. Within the township of Almondbury are two places of worship for Wesleyan Methodists, and one for the New Connexion.[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Online Records
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| FMP = [www.findmypast.co.ukFindMyPast] | |||||
| JMI = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk (£) |
| ALMONDBURY PARISH (1557) Online Records | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| AC | 1557-1910 | 1557-1910 | 1557-1935 | 1557-1935 | 1557-1979 | 1557-1979 | |
| FMP | None | None | 1617-1629 | None | None | None | |
| FS | 1557-1910 | None | 1557-1871 | None | 1734-1824, 1847-1856, 1889-1890 | None | |
| JMI | None | None | 1557-1682, 1813-1837 | None | None | None | |
| ARMITAGE BRIDGE Chapelry (1848) Online Records | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1848-1903 | None | 1848-1892, 1898 |
None | 1848-1914 | None | |
| JMI | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| FARNLEY TYAS Chapelry (1840) Online Records | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| JMI | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| HOLME Or HOLME-BRIDGE Chapelry (some pre-1800; mostly by 1840) Online Records | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1664, 1681, 1690, 1725, 1820, 1859 |
None | None | None | None | None | |
| JMI | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| HONLEY Chapelry (1813) Online Records | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1787-1790, 1813-1910 |
None | 1837-1903 | None | 1813-1915 | None | |
| JMI | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| LINGARDS Chapelry (by abt. 1840) Online Records (partly in Slaithwaite and Huddersfield parishes) | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| JMI | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| LINTHWAITE Chapelry (1828) Online Records | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| JMI | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| LOCKWOOD Chapelry (1830) Online Records | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1798-1804; 1830-1835 | None | 1837-1867 | None | None | None | |
| JMI | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| MARSDEN Chapelry (1734) Online Records | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1734-1894 | None | 1757-1805;1843-1908 | None | 1813 -1906 | None | |
| JMI | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| MELTHAM HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1669) Online Records - see also Wilshaw | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | |
Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1671-1910 | None | 1669-1840 | None | 1669-1889 | None | |
| JMI | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| MELTHAM-MILLS ST JAMES Chapelry (1838) Online Records | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1838-1910 | None | 1845-1909 | None | 1845-1918 | None | |
| JMI | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| MILNSBRIDGE Chapelry (1844) Online Records | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1837-1910 | None | 1871-1916 | None | 1845-1908 | None | |
| JMI | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| NETHERTHONG Chapelry (1830) Online Records | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1829-1909 | None | 1842-1868, 1885-1934 |
None | 1827-1915 | None | |
| JMI | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| NEWSOME Chapelry (1872) Online Records | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1828 | None | None | None | None | None | |
| JMI | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| RASHCLIFFE Chapelry (1864) Online Records | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| JMI | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| SOUTH CROSSLAND Chapelry (1829) Online Records | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1857 | None | 1805, 1837-1926 | None | 1857 | None | |
| JMI | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| UPPERTHONG Chapelry (1846) Online Records | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1846-1910 | None | 1848-1916 | None | 1848-1934 | None | |
| JMI | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| WILSHAW ST MARY'S Chapelry (1863) Online Records - see also Meltham | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1910 | None | 1877-1935 | None | 1894-1983 | None | |
| JMI | None | None | None | None | None | None | |
| LOCKWOOD CHAPELRY (1813) Online Records | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1858-1905 |
|
1813,1837-1873 |
|
None |
| |
| JMI | None |
|
None |
|
None |
| |
| ANC (£) | None |
|
None |
|
None |
| |
| HATH | None |
|
None |
|
None |
| |
| AO | None |
|
None |
|
None |
| |
| MARSDEN CHAPELRY (1678) Online Records | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1734-1909 |
|
1678,1686,1689,1757,1773,1786-1794,1843-1908 |
|
1778-1906 |
| |
| JMI | None |
|
None |
|
None |
| |
| ANC (£) | None |
|
None |
|
None |
| |
| HATH | None |
|
None |
|
None |
| |
| AO | None |
|
None |
|
None |
| |
| MELTHAM MILLS CHAPELRY (1838) Online Records | |||||||
| |
|
|
| ||||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1838-1909 |
|
1845-1909 |
|
1845-1918 |
| |
| JMI | None |
|
None |
|
None |
| |
| ANC (£) | None |
|
None |
|
None |
| |
| HATH | None |
|
None |
|
None |
| |
| AO | None |
|
None |
|
None |
| |
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1557.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records
a. Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464244. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 39-44.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 18 April 2013, at 01:48.
- This page has been accessed 1,233 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More