Alexander County, IllinoisEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Illinois
Alexander County
Guide to Alexander County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Coordinates: 37.19°0′N 89.34°0′W / 37.19°N 89.34°W
| Alexander County, Illinois | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Illinois | |
![]() Location of Illinois in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 4, 1819 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Cairo |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives | |
| Address | Alexander County Courthouse 2000 Washington Avenue |
Alexander County Organization
Alexander County's civil records start the following years:
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1877 | 1819 | 1878 | 1820 | 1818 | 1819 |
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Alexander County are kept, see the Alexander County Courthouse page.
Historical Records
Alexander County is named for William M. Alexander, early settler and Illinois state senator.
Boundary Changes
- Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in:
Union (1818–1819)
Johnson (1812–1818)
Randolph (1795–1812)
St. Clair (1790–1795)
- Interactive map of Alexander County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Records and Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
The Illinois Cemeteries page provides general explanations of the following online Alexander County resources:
| Bibliography | Online Gravestone Transcriptions | Cemetery Gazetteers |
| FHLC | Find A Grave | national search | county list | ePodunk |
| WorldCat | USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project | |
| Illinois Cemeteries | ||
| Genealogy Trails |
- Bankert Cemetery, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
- Bankert Cemetery, courtesy: Interment.net.
- Lindsey Cemetery, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
- Provo Cemetery, courtesy: Interment.net.
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1900 | 19,384 | ||
| 1910 | 22,741 | 17.3% | |
| 1920 | 23,980 | 5.4% | |
| 1930 | 22,542 | −6.0% | |
| 1940 | 25,496 | 13.1% | |
| 1950 | 20,316 | −20.3% | |
| 1960 | 16,061 | −20.9% | |
| 1970 | 12,015 | −25.2% | |
| 1980 | 12,264 | 2.1% | |
| 1990 | 10,626 | −13.4% | |
| 2000 | 9,590 | −9.7% | |
| IL Counties 1900-1990 | |||
For information and tips on accessing census records online, see Illinois Census.
- Index to the 1820 census of Alexander County...Bond County...Crawford County...Wayne County, Illinois. FHL Film 823651
- Illinois 1870 census index, Alexander County FHL 977.3999 X22i 1870, film 1425373 Item 9
Church History and Records
Some church records can be found at the town level.
Baptist
- Sandy Creek Baptist Church 1840-1979 (Tamms, Illinois)
- Sandy Creek Baptist Church 1887-1984 (Tamms, Illinois)
- Sandy Creek Baptist Church 1944-1983 (Tamms, Illinois)
Catholic
FamilySearch has made parish records from four Belleville Diocese Catholic churches in Alexander County available online (requires free registration). The records include first communions, confirmations, marriages, and deaths:
- Church Records of St. Benedict Parish, Sandusky, Alexander County, Illinois 1891-1956, browsable online (no index); courtesy: FamilySearch.
- Church Records of St. Columba Parish, Cairo, Alexander County, Illinois 1930-1950, browsable online (no index); courtesy: FamilySearch.
- Church Records of St. Joseph Parish, Cairo, Alexander County, Illinois 1871-1956, browsable online (no index); courtesy: FamilySearch.
- Church Records of St. Patrick Parish, Cairo, Alexander County, Illinois 1840-1956, browsable online (no index); courtesy: FamilySearch.
Court Records
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) Collection
The following copies of records may be accessed through: IRAD-Southern Illinois University (SIU) and search for Alexander County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the SIU IRAD Wiki page
Circuit Court
- 1842-1873 Circuit Court Record
County Board/County Commissioners
- 1819-1929 County Commissioners' Minutes and Index
- 1819-1942 County Commissioners' Proceedings Files
- 1931-1935 Blind Relief Warrant Registers
County Clerk
- 1873-1930 County Court Case Files
Justice of the Peace
- 1942-1949 Justice of the Peace Dockets
Directories
Ethnic Research
African American
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records.
- African-American Resources for Illinois
- Illinois Afrigeneas
Genealogy
Mailing Lists
Message Boards
History
- Shawnee Community College Local History Project includes dozens of personal interviews, newspaper clippings, and even a locally-composed song to give you a taste of historic Alexander County. Was your relative one of the interviewed individuals?
- Every Name Index to History of Alexander, Union and Pulaski Counties, Illinois. Every Name Index compiled by Cathy L. O'Connor, 2010. Original text written by William Henry Perrin, published by O. L. Baskin & Co., 1883, reproduction by Unigraphic, Inc., 1969. EveryNameIndex.com
Land and Property
Original land records for Alexander County are held in the office of the County Recorder (618) 734-7001. See Illinois Land Records for more information about using land records.
Online Resources
- Beginning 1820 Land Patent Search See Illinois Land and Property for more information about this database.
- 1796–1907 U.S. General Land Office Records found at Ancestry.com ($)
- Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales See Illinois Land and Property for more information about this database. Also available at Ancestry ($)
- Alexander County Federal Township Plats
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) Collection
The following abstracts and copies of land records may be accessed through: IRAD-Southern Illinois University (SIU) and search for Alexander County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the SIU IRAD Wiki page
- 1816-1857 Entry Books
- 1818-1943 Deed Index
- 1818-1944 Deed Record
- 1853-1939 Plat Record
- 1864-1870 Mortgage Release Record
- 1865-1904 Mortgage Record
- 1872-1903 Incorporation Record, Corporations
- 1900-1944 Mortgage Index
- 1915-1963 Chattel Mortgage Record
Family History Library Collection
- Selected Land records from Alexander and Pulaski counties FHL film 963962 item 8
- Atlas and plat book, Pulaski - Alexander County, Illinois, 1978 FHL book 977.399 E7p
- 1819-1917 Deeds and mortgages, 1818-1910; indexes FHL film 960946 item 1 (first film)
Maps
Military History and Records
General
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) Collection The following records may be accessed through: IRAD-Southern Illinois University (SIU) and search for Alexander County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the SIU IRAD Wiki page.
- 1861-1862 Militia Roll Record
- 1918-1944 Military Discharge Record
American Revolutionary War
Civil War
Civil War service men from Alexander County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Alexander County.
- - 1st Regiment, Illinois Light Artillery, Battery A (Smith's Battery Chicago Light Artillery), Battery D, and Battery G.
- - 2nd Regiment, Illinois Light Artillery, Battery D.
- - 6th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company M.
- - 7th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- - 8th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- - 9th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Companies A, H, I, and K.
- - 15th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company A, (Stewart's Independent Cavalry Company).
- - 16th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company K.
- - 18th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- - 29th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- - 58th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, I and K.
- - 109th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- - 130th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- - 143rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company B.
- Alexander County/Illinois Genealogy Trails. Information about Civil War soldiers from Alexander County such as their burials, pension applications and decendants' records. (accessed 31 May 2011)
Naturalization and Citizenship
The following copies of records may be accessed through: IRAD-Southern Illinois University (SIU) and search for Alexander County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the SIU IRAD Wiki page.
Circuit Court
- 1857-1941 Naturalization Record Index
- 1864-1892 Naturalization Record of Soldier and Minors
- 1864-1893 Naturalization Record, Final
- 1865-1941 Naturalization Declarations of Intent
- 1907-1940 Naturalization Petition Record
- 1929-1940 Naturalization Order Books
Newspapers
Obituaries
Probate Records
Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk (618) 439-2011. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
Online Resources
- 1829-1902 An unspecified number of Illinois, Probate Records, 1819-1970 are available at the Family Search Records online database. The collection does not have an every name index, but the images are available to browse and may often have indexes within each volume.
- Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) Collection
The following copies of records may be accessed through: IRAD-Southern Illinois University (SIU) and search for Alexander County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the SIU IRAD Wiki page.
- 1819-1942 Probate Minutes
- 1829-1870 Probate Case Files
- 1842-1943 Probate Guardian's Record
- 1850-1942 Probate Will Record
- 1857-1889 Probate Record
- 1865-1938 Probate Administrator's Record
- 1866-1944 Probate Publication Record
- 1872-1944 Probate Administrator's and Executor's Record
- 1873-1928 Probate Sale Record, Personal Property
- 1873-1944 Probate Inventory Record
- 1879-1940 Probate Appraisement Record
- 1887-1940 Probate Conservator's Record
- 1911-1917 Probate Fee Books
- 1913-1916 Probate Dockets
- Family History Library Collection
1819-1902 Probate records, 1819-1902; index to probate files FHL film 961726–961747 and 960438
- Conservators bonds and letters
- proof of birth and death
- Index to probate files, estates & guardians, 1820-1971
- Estates probate files 1828 to 1867
- Wills, 1850 to 1902
- Probate Order Books, 1857 to 1889
- SAMPUBCO - Index of testators of wills.
Public Records
The following copies of records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Franklin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the SIU IRAD Wiki page.
- 1870-1926 Almshouse Registers
- 1889-1949 School Teachers' Directories
- 1895-1959 School Teachers' Daily Registers
- 1914-1928 School Teachers' permanent Record
- 1941-1976 Santa Fe Township Poor Relief Account Books
Repositories
County Courthouse
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Alexander County are kept, see the Alexander County Courthouse page.
Family History Center
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)
IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Southern Illinois University houses the records for Alexander County.
Public Libraries
Cairo Public Library
1609 Washington Avenue
Cairo, Illinois 62914
Phone: 618-734-1840
Dodge Memorial Public Library
P.O. Box 65 Railroad Street
Olive Branch, Illinois 62969
Phone: 618-776-5115
Social Groups Online
Societies
Genealogical Society of Southern Illinois has a page with details about its' activities.
Vital Records
See
Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois.
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health. with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.
The following abstracts and copies of records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Alexander County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the SIU IRAD Wiki page.
Birth
- Selected birth and death records for Alexander County at Genealogy Trails.
- 1850-1878 Birth and Death Record, Proof of IRAD (SIU)
- 1878-1915 Birth Record index IRAD (SIU)
- 1878-1915 Birth records, 1878-1915 FHL film 961416–961418
- 1878-1917 Birth Record IRAD (SIU)
- 1893-1901 Cairo Birth and Death Record IRAD (SIU)
Marriage
- 1763-1900 Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763-1900
- 1819-1850 James Stephenson prepared an index to Marriages --Alexander Co., IL From 1819 to 1850. Available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
- 1819-1870 Marriages of Alexander County, Illinois, volume I, 1819 through 1870 Other libraries (WorldCat). FHL book 977.3999 V28j.
- 1819-1918 Alexander County, Illinois marriage records, 1819-1918 FHL film 961420–961428
- 1810-1934 Illinois County Marriages, 1810-1934
- 1819-1934 Alexander County / Illinois Genealogy Trails Marriages, 1819–1934
- 1819-1944 Marriage Record IRAD (SIU)
Death
- Selected birth and death records for Alexander County at Genealogy Trails.
- Pre-1916 Illinois Statewide Death Index, Pre-1916
- 1850-1878 Birth and Death Record, Proof of IRAD (SIU)
- 1878-1915 Death Record IRAD (SIU)
- 1879-1917 Alexander County, Illinois death records, v.1-3, 1879-1917 FHL film 961419
- 1893-1901 Cairo Birth and Death Record IRAD (SIU)
- 1916-1947 Illinois Deaths and Stillbirths, 1916-1947
- 1916-1950 Database of Illinois Death Certificates, 1916-1950
- 1960s-1990s Roxanne Layton-Bayle prepared a list of people who died in Thebes, Illinois. Dates range from the 1960s to the 1990s. Courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Alexander County, IllinoisGenealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- EveryNameIndex.com Free online genealogy indexes for those big old county histories.
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 192. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
| |||||||||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 18:50.
- This page has been accessed 3,698 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


