Aldersgate Street, MiddlesexEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Middlesex
Middlesex Parishes
Aldersgate Street
Contents |
Parish History
At Aldersgate Street stood the Bishop of London's Chapel and his chambers at London House, which was used from the eighteenth century because it was closer to St Paul's Cathedral than his official residence at Fulham. The Bishop of London prior to the Revolutionary War, originally held responsibility for church affairs in the British colonies of North America, although after that war all that remained under his jurisdiction were the British West India Islands. This chapel was created sometime in the early 1700's.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Census records
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. |
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 May 2012, at 06:35.
- This page has been accessed 185 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More