Adams County, PennsylvaniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Pennsylvania
Adams County
Adams County, Pennsylvania genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Adams County, Pennsylvania | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Pennsylvania | |||||||
![]() Location of Pennsylvania in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | January 22, 1800 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Gettysburg | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Adams County Courthouse 111 Baltimore St. Gettysburg, PA 17325-2312 Adams County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Adams County Pennsylvania Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
| |
| |
|
|
|
| |
- Parent Counties: Formed from York County in 22 January 1800.[1]
- County Seat: Gettysburg
- Neighboring Counties: Adams County, Pennsylvania residents may also have records in [2]Cumberland (north) • York (east) • Franklin (west) • Frederick County, Maryland and Carroll County, Maryland (south)
Adams County Pennsylvania Genealogy Resources
Bible Records
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Findagrave.com | Findagrave.com | |
| Interment.net | WorldCat | Names in Stone |
| PA-Roots | Billion Graves | |
| Pennsylvania Genealogy | Epodunk | |
| Pennsylvania Gravestones | USGW Also lists cemeteries no longer in existence | |
| Billion Graves | Adams Co. Historical Society The place to start; gives alternate names | |
| Names in Stone | ||
| Access Genealogy | ||
| Ancestry($) | ||
| USGW | ||
| See Pennsylvania Cemeteries for more information. | ||
- Harry Senft York and Adams County Cemetery Pictures Harry Senft has taken pictures of 100s of 1000s of headstones in over 200 cemeteries in York and Adams counties that are ALL posted online. In conjunction with FamilyHart (aka Don & Jeanine Hartman), Custom Google Maps for each cemetery location have been produced so that the user can easily find the cemetery. An index of the cemeteries listed is also provided by name and by location. In addition, indexing of the actual cemetery picture files with links to the FamilyHart Online Databaseare being compiled. The FamilyHart Online Database contains over 719,000 linked family names, most of which have connections to York and Adams counties. This family database is the most comprehensive and complete listing of York and Adams County names on the Internet. It grows by about 1,000 names per week, and is updated online quarterly.
- The Cemeteries of Adams County, Pennsylvania includes many of the same images taken by Harry Senft (along with those of others) posted online with indexing. In addition there are transcriptions of some cemeteries that do and don't have photographic images. Many older stones are unreadable in photographs so these transcriptions are often invaluable.
- Adams County USGenWeb Project This site has several links to Adams County cemetery listings online.
- Listing of Adams County, Pennsylvania Cemeteries reported in 1993 lists all known Adams county cemeteries including name changes and earliest / latest burials.
- Idaville United Methodist Cemetery on BillionGraves. On Highway 34, just north of a very small town by that name, in a very rural area. Two land parcels to this cemetery, nearly side by side on east side of highway as shown on this page.
- Lower Bermudian Lutheran Cemetery, Latimore BillionGraves
Census
For tips on accessing Adams County, Pennsylvania Federal (or United States) census records online, see: Pennsylvania Census.
There are no county or state census records available for Pennsylvania. County and city tax records can be used as a substitute when census records are not available.
1890 Census
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. In Pennsylvania, church records are often used as a substitute for birth, marriage, and death information. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, view the Pennsylvania Church Records wiki page.Perhaps the earliest religious denomination to be established in the county was the Church of the Brethren or the Dunkards who came around 1840. The Church of England or Episcopal congregations if the English were formed soon after. They kept few records. The Dutch Reformed church came around 1865. German Lutherans came to the county around 1780-1800. Other groups to come included Methodists, Irish Catholics, and Scotch-Irish Presbyterians. Not all the early churches to settle in the county stayed active to the present day.
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Pennsylvania Church Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
The Adams County Historical Society
Archives of the Historical Society:
- A church and cemetery file.
- A collection of Parish Register Transcripts: Many from old Lutheran and German Reformed congregations, and some from Presbyterian, Methodist, and Roman Catholic churches situated in the greater south-central and southeastern Pennsylvania and Maryland areas.
- Baptisms, marriages, etc. in over 300 Lutheran & many non-Lutheran Churches in Adams County and area.
The Adams County Historical Society website includes a detailed list of Adams County Clergymen covering the entire period of the county's history (1800-present). Clergymen's names, churches served, and dates served are included in this free online resource.
Historical Sketches
- Church Histories of Christ's Church (Union Twp.); Lower Marsh Creek Presbyterian Church (Fairfield) and Saint Aloysius Church of Littlestown. Found at Adams County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives
County-wide Database - Multi-denominational
- 1708-1985 - Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry.com – $; This database is incomplete for all counties.
- Contains church records of:
- Abbottstown: St. John's Evangelical Lutheran Church; St. John's Lutheran Church
- Arendtsville: Zion United Church of Christ
- Barlow: Mount Joy Lutheran Church
- Bendersville: Bethlehem Lutheran Church
- Biglerville: St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church; Trinity United Church of Christ
- Butler: Benders Church
- Conewago: Sacred Heart Basilica
- East Berlin: Trinity Lutheran Church
- Fairfield: St. John's Evangelical Lutheran Church; Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church
- Franklin: Lutheran Church
- Gettysburg: Christ Evangelical Lutheran Church; St. James Evangelical Lutheran Church
- Latimore: Chestnut Grove Evangelical Lutheran Church; Lower Bermudian Lutheran and Reformed Union Church
- Littlestown: Christ United Church of Christ; St. John's Evangelical Lutheran Church
- McSherrystown: St. Paul Lutheran Church
- Mount Joy: Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church; Marks German Reformed Evangelical Lutheran Congregations
- Mount Pleasant: St. Luke's Evangelical Lutheran Church; United Brethren in Christ
- Straban: St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church
- Uriah: United Methodist Church
- York Springs: Holy Trinity Lutheran Church; United Brethren in Christ
- Contains church records of:
- 1729-1881 – Pennsylvania Church Records - Adams, Berks, and Lancaster Counties, 1729-1881 at Ancestry.com – $; details on 180,000 church-goers from 50 churches; incomplete.
- Early 1800s- Present - An alphabetical list of Adams County Clergymen: Their names, their churches, and their years of service.
- Book: History of Saint Aloysius Church of Littlestown, Pennsylvania (1893) - full-text online
Catholic
Conewago Sacred Heart Roman Catholic Church, Conewago Township
- 1790-1815 - Conewago Sacred Heart Roman Catholic Church, Conewago Township, Baptism Index 1790-1815 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C506671.[3]
- 1791-1835 - Conewago Sacred Heart Roman Catholic Church, Conewago Township, Marriage Index 1791-1835 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M506671.[3]
Dutch Reformed
Conewago Dutch Reformed Church, Straban Township
- 1769-1793 - Conewago Dutch Reformed Church, Straban Township Baptism Index 1769-1793 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C510761.[3]
Lutheran and Dutch Reformed Church, Arendtsville
- 1770-1874 - Lutheran and Dutch Reformed Church, Arendtsville, Baptism Index 1770-1874 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C503961.[3]
- 1804 - Lutheran and Dutch Reformed Church, Arendtsville, Marriage Index 1770-1874 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M503961.[3]
Episcopal
Christ's Episcopal Church, York Springs
- 1760-1763, 1784-1836, 1851-1876 - Christ's Episcopal Church, York Springs, Baptism Index 1760-1763, 1784-1836, 1851-1876 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C510751.[3]
- 1858-1872 - Christ's Episcopal Church, York Springs, Marriage Index 1858-1872 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M510751.[3]
German Baptist
- 1839-1907 - Marsh Creek German Baptist Brethren Index, Book 2, 1839-1907 at Adams County Historical Society website - free. Book 1 is lost.
- 1908-1956 - Marsh Creek Congregation Church of the Brethren, Book 3, 1908-1956 at Adams County Historical Society website - free.
Lutheran
- 1785-1874 - Adams County, Pennsylvania, 1785-1874: Lutheran and Reformed Congregations at Ancestry ($).
Christ Lutheran Church, Gettysburg
- 1837-1875 - Christ Lutheran Church, Gettysburg, Baptism Index 1837-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C506911.[3]
- 1847-1880 - Christ Lutheran Church, Gettysburg, Marriage Index 1847-1880 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M506911.[3]
Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, York Springs
- 1840-1875 - Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, York Springs, Baptism Index 1840-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C505471.[3]
- 1842-1880 - Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, York Springs, Baptism Index 1842-1880 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M505471.[3]
Lower Bermudian Lutheran and Reformed Union Congregation
- 1745-1864 - Lower Bermudian Lutheran and Reformed Union Congregation, Baptism Index 1745-1864 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C505331.[3]
- 1758-1772 - Lower Bermudian Lutheran and Reformed Union Congregation, Marriage Index 1758-1772 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M505331.[3]
Lutheran and Dutch Reformed Church, Arendtsville
- 1770-1874 - Lutheran and Dutch Reformed Church, Arendtsville, Baptism Index 1770-1874 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C503961.[3]
- 1804 - Lutheran and Dutch Reformed Church, Arendtsville, Marriage Index 1770-1874 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M503961.[3]
Mark's Lutheran Reformed Church, Mount Joy Township
- 1835-1873 - Mark's Lutheran Reformed Church, Mount Joy Township, Baptism Index 1835-1873 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C516161.[3]
St. Mark German Reformed and Evangelical Lutheran Congregation, Gettysburg
- 1836-1873 - St. Mark German Reformed and Evangelical Lutheran Congregation, Gettysburg, Baptism Index 1814-1821 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C506681.[3]
St. James Evangelical Lutheran Church, Gettysburg
- 1819-1875 - St. James Evangelical Lutheran Church, Gettysburg, Baptism Index 1819-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C504751.[3]
- 1830-1879 - St. James Evangelical Lutheran Church, Gettysburg, Marriage Index 1830-1879 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M504751.[3]
St. John Lutheran Church, Abbottstown
- 1850-1877 - St. John Lutheran Church, Abbottstown, Baptism Index 1850-1877 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C506661.[3]
- 1850-1877 - St. John Lutheran Church, Abbottstown, Baptism Index 1850-1877 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M506661.[3]
Upper Bermudian Church, Huntington Township
- 1791-1874 - Upper Bermudian Church, Huntington Township, Baptism Index 1791-1874 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C506701.[3]
Methodist
The Methodist Episcopal Church, Gettysburg
- 1854-1875 - The Methodist Episcopal Church, Gettysburg, Baptism Index 1854-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C510721.[3]
- 1854-1885 - The Methodist Episcopal Church, Gettysburg, Marriage Index 1854-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M510721.[3]
Presbyterian
- Burial Record of Lower Marsh Creek Presbyterian Church at Ancestry ($).
Rock Creek Congregation, Gettysburg
- 1814-1821 - Rock Creek Congregation, Gettysburg, Baptism Index 1814-1821 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C506691.[3]
- 1774-1815, 1828-1840 - Rock Creek Congregation, Gettysburg, Marriage Index 1774-1815 and 1828-1840 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M506691.[3]
Reformed
- 1785-1874 - Adams County, Pennsylvania, 1785-1874: Lutheran and Reformed Congregations at Ancestry ($).
Benders Reformed Church, Butler Township
- 1780-1852 - Benders Reformed Church, Butler Township, Baptism Index 1768-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C516151.[3]
Bermudian Reformed Church, Latimore Township
- 1745-1864 - Bermudian Reformed Church, Latimore Township, Baptism Index 1745-1864 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C536721.[3]
- 1758-1772 - Bermudian Reformed Church, Latimore Township, Baptism Index 1758-1772 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M536721.[3]
Emanuel Reformed Church, Abbottstown
- 1768-1875 - Emanuel Reformed Church, Abbottstown, Baptism Index 1768-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C510181.[3]
German Reformed Congregation, New Oxford
- 1822-1846 - German Reformed Congregation, New Oxford, Baptism Index 1822-1846 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C506721.[3]
St. John's Evangelical and Reformed Church, Fairfield
- 1854-1875 - St. John's Evangelical and Reformed Church, Fairfield, Baptism Index 1854-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C510731.[3]
Trinity Reformed Church, Gettysburg
- 1835-1875 - Trinity Reformed Church, Gettysburg, Baptism Index 1835-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C510741.[3]
Court Records
Adams County, Pennsylvania court records are housed at the Adams County, Pennsylvania Courthouse. For many counties copies of court records may be found at the Pennsylvania State Archives and in the FamilySearch collection. Note that within these collections some films may contain the same records, but have different titles. Other titles are not duplicates. See Finding Court Records at other repositories within this section for links to the online catalogs for these two collections. Films at the Pennsylvania State Archives are not available for inter-library loan. If court records are available FamilySearch films may be ordered at a local Family History Center.
Court of Common Pleas
The Courts of Common Pleas are the trial courts of Pennsylvania. Major civil and criminal cases are heard in these courts. Judges also decide cases involving adoption, divorce, child custody, abuse, juvenile delinquency, estates, guardianships, charitable organizations and many other matters. The Common Pleas courts are organized into 60 judicial districts. Adams County, Pennsylvania has its own judicial district. Judges of the Common Pleas courts are elected to 10-year terms. A president judge and a court administrator serve in each judicial district.[4]
Clerk of the Court
The Clerk of Courts prepares and maintains the records for the Criminal Division of the Court of Common Pleas. The Clerk signs and affixes the Seal of the Courts to all writs and processes, administers oaths and affirmations, and assumes custody of the seal and records of the Courts. The Clerk certifies and distributes orders of the Court. The Clerk also certifies and prepares bills of costs for the defendants and utilizes the computerized financial management system to disburse fines, costs and restitution.[5] For the Adams County, Pennsylvania Clerk of Courts address see the Courthouse section on this page.
Prothonotary
The office of the Prothontary is the custodian of all civil matters in the county. This includes naturalization, immigration, equity actions, judgements, federal and local tax leins, city liens, family court, arbitrations, license suspension appeals, appeals to higher court, commercial code filings, applications for passports and divorce proceedings. See the Courthouse section on this page for the Adams County, Pennsylvania Prothonotary office information.
Orphan's Court
See Vital Records
The Orphans' Court is responsible for a wide range of matters. The name of the Court is derived from the more general definition of "orphan," that being a person or thing that is without protective affiliation or sponsorship. This would include those not capable of handling their own affairs, minors, incapacitated persons, decedents estates, nonprofit corporations and trusts. It is the role of the Court to ensure that the best interests of the person or entity are not compromised.
It is believed the name of this court was borrowed from the Court of Orphans of the city of London, England which had the care and guardianship of children of deceased citizens, in their minority.[6]
For Adams County, Pennsylvania Orphans' Court contact information see the Courthouse section on this page.
Finding Court Records at Other Repositories
Additional court records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Pennsylvania Court Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Adams County, Pennsylvania Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Emigration and Immigration
For information about emigration into Pennsylvania, see the Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration page.
The Scotch-Irish made settlements at the "Marsh Creek Settlement" and the "Great Conewago Settlement" about 1740 in what was a predominantly German area.[7]
Ethnic Groups
Germans
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
- Adams County USGenWeb Project This site has several online histories of Adams County.
Published Histories
Land and Property
Land records in Adams County began in 1800. These records are filed with the Register of Wills/Recorder of Deeds office in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, and maps. Property records include liens as well as livestock brands and estray records.
The following are examples of available resources:
Online Land Records
- 1800–1936 Adams County offers online access to indexes and images. Fees apply. Refer to the website for current availability and fees.
- PA Original Land Records The Rev. Neal Hively has done extensive land record compilations and land mapping of York and Adams counties with indexes available online.
Land Records on Microfilm
- 1800–1934 Deeds, 1800-1851; Index 1800-1937. FHL films 20666–20676
Additional Resources
Note that the "Maps" section below includes maps related to land ownership.
See Pennsylvania Land and Property for more information about using land records, especially about original land warrants, surveys, and patents filed at the state land office.
Additional resources can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County Pennsylvania Land in online catalogs such as:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog.)
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search.)
Maps
- Adams County USGenWeb Project This site contains several maps curent and past of Adams County, Pennsylvania.
- Ancestor Tracks has posted free, downloadable images from the 1858 Map of Adams Co., Pennsylvania by G. M. Hopkins. This wall map located in the Library of Congress shows major landowners and geographic sites at the date of publishing. While the physical maps are in the public domain, the images we have taken of the maps belong to us and are not to be used to commercially. We hereby give permission to use them strictly for personal use; please attribute to Ancestor Tracks.
Migration
Military
- Adams County USGenWeb This site has several online military record listings for Adams County that are online.
- Military Records of Adams County at Adams County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives Includes Civil War lists of drafted men and exemptions, draft registrants from 1917, 1940, 1942, and Army enlistees for World War II.
Revolutionary War
Men from what is now Adams County (then York County) served in the 1st Pennsylvania Regiment.[8]
Civil War
Civil War service men from Adams County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Adams County.
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Adams County.
- July 1-3, 1863 = Gettysburg[9]
Gettysburg National Military Park helps visitors relive this battle.
- Map showing Civil War battles in Pennsylvania.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. See Pennsylvania Naturalization for more information about the types of records and availability.
Naturalizations granted at the county level were kept by the office of the Prothonotary. Naturalizations could also be granted on the Federal Court level.
Naturalization records available for Adams County, Pennsylvania include the following:
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1901-1930 – Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. Circuit and District Courts for the Middle District of Pennsylvania, 1906-1930; and 1901-1906 on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1622, Middle District court was created in 1901, for earlier dates try the Eastern and Western District court records
- 1901-1930 - Middle District, US Circuit and District Courts: Naturalization petitions, 1906-1930 located in U.S. Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1795-1972 (World Archives Project) database on Ancestry.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1622, Middle District court was created in 1901, for earlier dates try the Eastern and Western District court records
- 1901-1930 – Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. Circuit and District Courts for the Middle District of Pennsylvania, 1906-1930; and 1901-1906 on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1622, Middle District court was created in 1901, for earlier dates try the Eastern and Western District court records
Original Naturalization Records on Microfilm
- 1802-1906 Naturalization and Declaration of Intention Papers FHL film 1381842 (first of 4 films)
- 1802-1906 Naturalization and Declaration of Intention Papers FHL film 1381842 (first of 4 films)
Finding Naturalization Indexes at Other Repositories
Additional naturalization indexes can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Pennsylvania naturalization in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Abstracts in Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Newspapers
Adams County, Pennsylvania newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, historical/genealogical societies, college or university libraries, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published.
For information on state-wide newspapers see Pennsylvania Newspapers
Newspapers of Adams County
Online Newspapers
To learn if there are newspapers on line for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google.com/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper
- The Adams Centinel Nov 19, 1800 - Mar 19, 1883
- The Centinel (Gettysburg, Pa.) 1805-1813
- Adams County News Nov 28, 1908-25 August 1917. Also on Ancestry.com ($)
- Gettysburg Compiler January 1, 1869-December 26, 1953
- The Gettysburg Gazette January 21, 1803 - August 19, 1803
- the Gettysburg Times January 1, 1909 - April 30, 2009
- The Republican Compiler September 16, 1818 - July 16, 1888
- The Sprig of Liberty Jan 27, 1804 - Jan 23, 1807
Online Newspaper Abstracts
- PA-Roots Newspaper Articles Adams County.
- Miscellaneous Newspaper Articles
Newspaper Excerpts and Abstracts
- Stover, Robert, Abstracts From the Republican Compiler, Adams County, Pennsylvania 1831-1851 (Gettysburg, PA:R. Stover, c1976) At various libraries (WorldCat; FHL Collection
- Sullivan, Raymond (compiler), A collection of newspaper clippings of vital records from the Evening Sun, Gazette and Daily, Adams Co., York Co., Pennsylvania, Carroll Co., Maryland, 1968-1969; Sykesville Times Caroll County Times, Carroll Co., Maryland, 1967-1968, 1967-1969 (SLC, Utah:1969) FHL film 599824–599829 item 1 Includes "Evening Sun," (Gazette and Daily) " "Carroll Co. Times," Sykesville Times," (Gazette and Daily) and "Evening Sun."
Obituaries
Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died. However, sometimes an obituary is found in the location from which he or she originated. To find an obituary, see the information under the Newspaper heading.
| Sometimes the fastest way of finding obituaries is to call or email the local public library in the area where the person died. If the library does not have newspapers, a librarian often will know where they are kept. If a death date is known, and the newspapers are at the library, someone on staff will usually make a search for a small fee, or will indicate someone who will do the search. |
Online Obituary Abstracts
- USGenWeb Archives Adams County Obituaries
- PA-Roots Obituaries for Adams County.
Occupations
Indentured Servants
Periodicals
Poorhouse, Almshouse
Probate Records
Probate matters in Adams County, Pennsylvania are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created. To obtain original probate records, contact the Orphan's Court in the County Courthouse.
In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates of decedents, incompetents, and minors; appointment and control of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills involving probate matters; inheritance tax appeals and various petitions and motions.
Online Probate Records
Original probate records for some Pennsylvania counties are available free online as digital images at FamilySearch.org. The dates vary significantly for each county and not all counties are listed. Some counties may only have probate indexes. This Pennsylvania collection of images may be browsed through the links listed below:
Complete Collection:
- 1683-1994-Pennsylvania, Probate Records, 1683-1994 at FamilySearch.org
- 1683-1994-Pennsylvania, Probate Records, 1683-1994 at FamilySearch.org
Adams County Only:
- 1849-1976- Adams County Probate Records
- 1849-1976- Adams County Probate Records
Original Probate Records on Microfilm
- 1849-1976 Estate files FHL film 1266520 (first of 26 films)
- 1800-1851 Register of wills FHL films 20677-20678-Index included: 1800-1864
Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts
Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Pennsylvania probate wills in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- 1800-1864 - Young, Henry James. An Index to the Wills and Administration Bonds of Adams County, Pennsylvania (Books "A-G") 1800-1864. 1940. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Repositories
Archives
The Pennsylvania Archives collection contains county archive records that can be searched onsite. Currently the Archives' staff cannot provide research or make copies of these records. Their collections include Almshouse Registers; Tax records; Birth, Death and Marriage Indexes and Records; Midwife records; African American records; Wills; Deeds; Naturalizations; Coroner's inquests; and Orphan's Court dockets. A list of the Archive's county holdings are on Microfilm or Manuscript form.
Courthouse
Adams County Courthouse
111 Baltimore St.
Gettysburg, PA 17325-2312
Phone: (717) 334-6781
Hours: M - F 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
The courthouse houses records of county births and deaths (1893-1905) and Marriage records (1885- to the present). The Office of the Prothonotary is located in the courthouse and is a good place to search for divorce and civil case records.
County of Adams Prothonotary
117 Baltimore Street
Room 104
Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone: 717-337-9834
County of Adams Clerk of Courts & Orphans' Court
117 Baltimore Street
Room 103
Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone: 717-337-9806
Accounts, Adoptions, and Guardian records are filed in the Orphans' Court. The court maintains records from 1800 to the present. They also have indexes to birth records from 1852 to 1855 and 1893 to 1905, indexes to death records from 1852 to 1855 and 1893 to 1905, and indexes to marriage records from 1852 to 1855.
Family History Centers
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.
The main FHC for Adams County, Pennsylvania is the Gettysburg Pennsylvania Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Gettysburg Pennsylvania Family History Center (New Oxford)
Libraries
Adams County Library System
140 Baltimore Street
Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone: (717) 334-5716
Fax: (717) 334-7992
Mon-Thurs: 9 am to 8:30 pm
Fri/Sat: 9 am to 5 pm
Sun: 1 pm to 5 pm
Museums
Appalachian Trail Museum Society
1120 Pine Grove Road
Gardners, PA 17342
Phone: (812) 936-3366
Societies
Adams County Historical Society
P.O. Box 4325
111 Seminary Ridge
Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone: (717) 334-4723
Houses the county's historical records. Website includes helpful worksheets for Adams County census, property, surname, and taxation research. Finding Aids available online cover microfilms, vertical file index, family file index, list of cemeteries, list of clergymen, Marsh Creek German Baptist Brethren Index, Marsh Creek Congregation Church of the Brethren Index, Adams County Delayed Birth Register 1893-1905, Original Land Records Name Index (3 vols.). A look-up service is available for a small fee. Includes Battle of Gettysburg Research Center.
- Come Join our Adams County Genealogy Group on Facebook
Taxation
- Adams County USGenWeb Project This site has the Returns of Taxables of the County of York for the Years 1779, 1780, 1781, 1782, and 1783 online. Adams County was a part of York County during these years.
Vital Records
Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. While the records for that time period are available, there were few events recorded. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. Abstracts and copies of vital records are available for some counties, but most are incomplete. For the most complete set of records, always contact the County Orphans' Court.
| Use substitute records for birth, marriage and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Birth
Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania birth records are available through the Department of of Health for 1906 and 1907. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified Birth certificate can be obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
- 1726-1930 - Pennsylvania, Births and Christenings, 1709-1950 - free index. Not complete for all years. This index is an electronic index for the years 1726 to 1930. It is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Births Ancestry.com – $ Index with images.
- 1893-1905 - Adams County Delayed Birth Register 1893-1905 at Adams County Historical Society website - free. Includes name, gender, date of birth.
Marriage
Pennsylvania marriages are located at the county level. Contact the Adams County, Pennsylvania clerk's office for these records.
- 1700-1821 - Pennsylvania Marriage Records Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties.
- Pre-1810 – Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties. Includes 35,000 marriage records from vol. VIII of of the second series of the Pennsylvania Archives.
- 1725-1976 - Pennsylvania, Marriages, 1709-1940 - free index. Not complete for all years. This index is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
- 1852-1855, 1885-1931 - Adams County Marriage Books 2-3, 5-11, 13-15 Index 1852-1855 and 1885-1931 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1852-1854 - Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1885-1950 - Pennsylvania County Marriage, 1885-1950 Extracted marriage records – free. This database is incomplete for all counties. May also contain marriage records earlier than 1885.
- Marriage Records alphabetically arranged at Adams County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives
Divorce
Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary. The office of the Prothonotary is located in the courthouse building.
Death
Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania death records are available through the Department of Health for 1906 through 1962. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified death certificate can be obtained obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Deaths Ancestry.com – $ Index with images.
Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories
Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Pennsylvania Vital Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Adams County Pennsylvania Genealogy Websites
- Adams County USGenWeb Project This site contains a significant number of links to online Adams County genealogical data.
- FamilyHart Online Database, FamilyHart(aka Don & Jeanine Hartman), has the largest collection of York and Adams County family genealogies online (Total database size over 630,000 linked names, most with York and Adams County ties). They also have a large collection of family photgraphs, documents, and headstone pictures associated with these families.
- Harry Senft York and Adams County Cemetery Pictures Harry Senft has taken pictures of 100s of 1000s of headstones in over 200 cemeteries in York and Adams counties that are ALL posted online. In conjunction with FamilyHart (aka Don & Jeanine Hartman), Custom Google Maps for each cemetery location have been produced so that the user can easily find the cemetery. An index of the cemeteries listed is also provided by name and by location. In addition, indexing of the actual cemetery picture files with links to the FamilyHart Online Databaseare being compiled. The FamilyHart Online Database contains over 600,000 linked family names, most of which have connections to York and Adams counties. This family database is the most comprehensive and complete listing of York and Adams County names on the Internet. It grows by about 1,000 names per week, and is updated online quarterly.
- Pennsylvania Dutch Family History, Genealogy, Culture and Life This site contains links to everything Pennsylvania Dutch.
Adams County Pennsylvania Places
Populated Places
Boroughs
|
|
|
|
Townships
|
|
|
|
Communities
|
Jack's Mountain |
Census Designations
|
|
|
|
Adams County Pennsylvania Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Pennsylvania" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Pennsylvania (accessed 17 July 2012).
- ↑ 3.00 3.01 3.02 3.03 3.04 3.05 3.06 3.07 3.08 3.09 3.10 3.11 3.12 3.13 3.14 3.15 3.16 3.17 3.18 3.19 3.20 3.21 3.22 3.23 3.24 3.25 3.26 3.27 3.28 3.29 3.30 3.31 3.32 3.33 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/b/b5/Igipennsylvaniaa.pdf.
- ↑ The Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/accesssed 10 July 2012.
- ↑ Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania, Clerk of Courts in http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ClerksOfCourts.htm (accessed 25 Aug 2012)
- ↑ The Philadelphia Courts at http://www.courts.phila.gov/common-pleas/orphans/ accessed 10 July 2012
- ↑ Wayland F. Dunaway, The Scotch-Irish of Colonial Pennsylvania (Chapel Hill, N.C.: The University of North Carolina Press, 1944), 57-58. Free digital version at PA's Past: Digital Bookshelf at Penn State.
- ↑ John B.B. Trussell and Charles C. Dallas, The Pennsylvania Line; Regimental Organization and Operations, 1776-1783 (Harrisburg, Pa.: Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, 1977). Digital version at Family History Archive.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 May 2013, at 22:13.
- This page has been accessed 4,878 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More




