Abram, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Contents |
Parish History
ABRAM, a township, in the parish and union of Wigan, hundred of West Derby, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 3 miles (S. S. E.) from Wigan. This township was originally called Adburgham, and afterwards Abraham. A district church dedicated to St. John has been built.[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records on the "Lancashire" main page.
Lancashire researchers now have two outstanding web sites with name lists or indexes, including one for local Lancashire births, marriages and deaths (BMDs) as well as a general site with national BMDs available to search online--including for Lancashire:
- LancashireBMD.org.uk - 15 million entries for Lancashire
- FreeBMD - over 20 million entries for Lancashire
Church records
Online Records
Church of England
Abram chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Wigan All Saints to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg |
| ABRAM ST JOHN Chapelry (1838) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1838-1901 | 1856-1901 | 1839-1901 | ||
| LOPC | 1838-1911 | 1854-1911 | 1839-1900, 1902-1911 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1854-1950 | None | ||
|
WIGAN ALL SAINTS PARISH (1578) Indexes (ancient parish containing ABRAM Chapelry) | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1578-1926 | 1594-1880 | 1749-1952 | ||
| LOPC | 1813-1842, 1844, 1861-1869, 1884-1896 | 1594-1625, 1754-1898 | 1754-1904 | ||
| LBMD | 1837-1950 | 1837-1950 | 1837-1951 | ||
| FMP | None | 1594-1837 | None | ||
| AC | 1580-1625 |
1580-1625 |
1580-1625 | ||
| FREG | 1580-1588, 1590-1625 | 1594-1625 | 1584-1597, 1600-1626 | ||
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Abram and comprising the whole ancient parish of Wigan All Saints to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WIGAN ALL SAINTS PARISH page.
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306936. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Garstang Poor Law Union, Lancashire
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 5-9. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 September 2012.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 25 October 2012, at 00:42.
- This page has been accessed 206 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More