Cardigan, CeredigionEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Wales
Ceredigion
Cardigan
A guide to genealogy in Cardigan, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...
Cardigan (Welsh: Abertiefi) is a town, community and ecclesiastical parish on the estuary of the Afon Teifi in Ceredigion, Wales.
Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.
Cardigan is predominantly a Welsh language speaking community.
Contents |
History
Cardigan is an anglicisation of the Welsh Ceredigion meaning "Ceredig's land". The town's Welsh name, Aberteifi, means "mouth of the Teifi."
For more information on the town of Cardigan see Genuki - Cardigan
Administration
| Years | County |
|---|---|
| before 31 March 1974 | Cardiganshire |
| 1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 | Dyfed |
| from 1 April 1996 | Ceredigion |
Records
Civil Registration
Church Records
Census Records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate Records
Maps and Gazetteers
Web Sites
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 13 June 2013, at 14:52.
- This page has been accessed 189 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More