Aberffraw, AngleseyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Wales
Anglesey
Anglesey Parishes
Aberffraw
Contents |
History
- Aberffraw (ocasionally spelled Aberffo; Abar Fraw; Aber-Fraw) is a parish and market town in Anglesey, Wales. ABERFFRAW, a parish in the hundred of Malltraeth, in the county of Anglesey, North Wales, 16 miles S.W. of Beaumaris. It is a station on the Holyhead railway. Bangor is the post town.To learn additional information about this parish go to Genuki.org.uk.
- An Anglesey time line highlights history from 1282 to the 2010.
Administration
| Years | County |
| Pre 1536 | Gwynedd |
| 1536 - 31 Mar 1974 | Anglesey |
| 1 Apr 1974 - 31 Mar 1996 | Gwynedd |
| Post 1996 | Anglesey |
| Type of Jurisdiction | Name |
| Hundred | Malltraeth |
| Church of England/ Church in Wales Diocese | Bangor |
| Civil Registration District | Anglesey |
What Do You Want to Find?
To start your search, decide when your ancestor lived. If he or she lived between 1837-1911, start by searching civil registration and census records. If they lived before 1837, use church records and probate records. Read more about these records below.
Records
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Several Internet sites list names or indexes to the records, including:
Church records
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Census records
Census for the entire country was started in 1841 and continued every ten years. The most recent census available to the public is 1911. Learn more about these records, including the information given in them, by reading the census article.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464296. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Anglesey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in Wales. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. Here is a link to a web site with gazetteers and maps.
Web sites
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 January 2013, at 03:00.
- This page has been accessed 435 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More