Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, ScotlandEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Aberdeen. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.
The city of Aberdeen formerly constituted the parish of St. Nicholas alone, which in 1828 was divided into the six separate parishes of East, West, North, South, the Greyfriars, a former ancient monastery, and St. Clement. See also Old Machar parish.
The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.
Archives and Libraries
The Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire Archives has put the catalogue to their collection on the Internet. Their collection of genealogical value includes:
- Records of the poor relating to Aberdeenshire, Morayshire, Banffshire and Kincardineshire
- School records for Aberdeenshire, Morayshire, Banffshire, Kincardineshire and Aberdeen City
- Burial records for some City cemeteries, as well as some in Aberdeenshire
- Registers of shipping and sea fishing vessels for the Port of Aberdeen
- Aberdeen Burgh records: Council minutes from 1398, Register of Sasines (including Town Clerk’s Protocol Books) from 1484 -1809, Register of Deeds from 1569, Apprentice Registers from 1622, and Register of Burgesses from 1632.
- Records for other burghs in Aberdeen and Moray shires.
- Kirk Session records for St. Nicholas, St. Clement’s, St. Clement’s Free, John Knox, Langstane and Greyfriars parishes in Aberdeen
- Congregational, Episcopal and Methodist Church Records for a number of congregations in Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire
- Tax lists from as early as the 15th century
- Valuation Rolls and Registers of Electors
Some burial records in their collection have been digitized and are searchable at http://www.deceasedonline.com/.
The Aberdeen City Library has a local studies collection that includes:
- Parish and local histories
- Biographies and family history
- Education, literature and architecture sources
- Local authority minutes and development plans
- Electoral and valuation rolls
- Newspapers and Periodicals
A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.
The 1841-1911 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses have an index, The 1841-1911 census is also being indexed on www.findmypast.co.uk and www.ancestry.co.uk, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the websites rather than access indexes through the Family History Library. Findmypast and ancestry are available for free use through a subscription at the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, Utah.
The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.
Established Church—Old Parochial Registers
|Record Type||Years Covered||Family History Library Film Number|
|1793-1847 (East Church)||1068235 item 7|
|1804-1819 (various churches*)||0991139|
|1820-1831 (St. Clement)||0991202|
|1839-1859 (North Church)||1068225 items 5-7|
|1839-1859 (East Church)||1068226 items 1-6|
|1839-1844 (South Church)||1068226 items 7-8|
|1841-1859 (South Church)||1068227 items 1-5|
|1839-1845 (West Church)||1068227 items 6-8|
|1846-1859 (West Church)||1068228 items 1-3|
|1839-1849 (Greyfriar's)||1068228 items 4-8|
|1850-1859 (Greyfriar's)||1068229 items 1-2|
|1839-1841 (St. Clement's)||1068229 items 3-4|
|1844-1854 (St. Clement's)||1068229 items 5-7|
|1854-1859 (St. Clement's)||1068230 item 1|
|1793-1820 (St. Clement's)||0991198|
|1820-1854 (St. Clement's)||0991203|
|1846-1855 (South Church)||1068235 item 5|
|1813-1852 (neglected entries)||0991204|
Marked with asterisk (*): These marriages performed by ministers of churches other than St. Nicholas, including those of Dissenters. Many marriages were performed in private homes rather than a church.
Condition of Original Registers
Index: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers. The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index. The IGI is now under www.familysearch.org and under Europe and Scotland.
Births: There are no records for July 1699–December 1700, December 1703–January 1706, except for five entries in 1705 and April 1707–November 1713. There are only two entries for May 1714–March 1719 and three entries April 1721–March 1725. It is again blank for August 1725–February 1726 and January 1733–May 1734. It is defective for January 1753–October 1754. There are many irregular entries during 1790–1820.
Marriages: Except for eight entries dated between May and July 1703, the record is blank December 1700–April 1734. It is also blank April 1740–July 1742 and October 1751–May 1786. From the latter date to February 1790, the entries occur among the births for the same period. The record is blank February 1790–January 1817, except for one entry in 1813, from which date a separate record is again kept.
Deaths: Burials for March 1787–October 1790 are recorded among the births and marriages. There is a separate record for December 1790–May 1793. The record is blank 1793–January 1817 after which the record is resumed on occasional pages of the baptismal register. It is blank for 1826–1847.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.
Established Church—Kirk Session Records
The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of he minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.
Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:
Minutes 1562–1563, 1568, 1573–1578, 1602–1624, 1629–1640, 1651–1922
Scroll Minutes 1739–1744, 1749–1926
Cash Books 1845–1890, 1897–1937
List of recipients of money allocated from the Communion Collections 1839–1846
Note: Available at the Aberdeen City Archives, Aberdeen, Scotland, record CH2/448.
Various Accounts 1845–1897
Scroll Minutes 1828–1839, 1849–1954
Note: Available at the Aberdeen City Archives, Aberdeen, Scotland, record CH2/1369.
East Kirk, St. Mary’s Chapel
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/741.
Cash Book 1814–1850
Seat Rent Book 1821–1845
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/1487.
Note: Available at the Aberdeen City Archives, Aberdeen, Scotland, record CH2/492.
John Knox Mounthooley
Communicants Rolls 1839–1842, 1846–1863, 1866–1987
Managers’ Minutes 1836–1896
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/1493.
Union Terrace Chapel of Ease (Bon Accord Free Church after 1843)
Various Minutes 1828–1848
Communion Roll 1829–1835
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/908.
See Woodside Free Church, in the list of Nonconformist churches, for records.
Nonconformist Church Records
A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union List.
Click here for a list of Aberdeen city nonconformist churches and their records.
Civil Registration Records
Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.
Post office directories are available online through the National Library of Scotland, each one is in a PDF format that can be downloaded or one can view it online.
War Memorial for WWI and WWII located at the Ruthrieston Church, Aberdeen, Scotland (Courtesy of Colin Milne)
There were 3 workhouses in this county:
A description with drawings and photos of them today along with databases of those living there from the 1881 Census are provided on the links above located on the site entitled "The Workhouse.org.uk" which is owned and operated by Peter Higginbotham.
Aberdeen was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Aberdeen until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Aberdeen. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Aberdeen and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Aberdeen. Ancestry.co.uk also has many probate records for Scotland and Scottish people indexed from 1861-1941
The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Aberdeen. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Aberdeen and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'
Read more about Scotland Probate Records.<
Aberdeen Maps: Courtesy of the National Library of Scotland
Return to the Aberdeenshire parishes list.
- This page was last modified on 7 May 2013, at 15:56.
- This page has been accessed 4,151 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More