Abbotsbury, DorsetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Abbotsbury, Dorset
Abbotsbury St Nicholas, Dorset.jpg
Abbotsbury St Nicholas
Type Civil parish
Ecclesiastical parish
Registration sub-district
Rural deanery
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Uggscombe
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Weymouth PLU
Registration District Weymouth
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridport
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Bishops Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
 England  Gotoarrow.png  Dorset Gotoarrow.png  Dorset Parishes

Contents

Parish History

ABBOTSBURY, a village, a parish, and a subdistrict, in the district of Weymouth, Dorset. The village stands in a vale, about a mile from the sea, 7¼ miles W of the Weymouth railway, and 9 SW of Dorchester.  The parish contains also the hamlets of Rodden and Elworth; [1]

Here is a 1848 perspective of this parish:

ABBOTSBURY (St. Nicholas), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Weymouth, hundred of Uggscombe, Dorchester division of Dorset, 8¼ miles (W. S. W.) from Dorchester, and 129 (S. W. by W.) from London; containing, with the hamlets of Rodden and Elworth.[2]

An additional chapel called St. Catherine's chapel, was supposed to have been erected in the reign of Edward IV., stands on an eminence south-west of the town, and serves only as a land-mark.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Abbotsbury, Dorset Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1560
1567
1567
Images
1560-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1919 Ancestry[4] 1813-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1919 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1726-1812 FindMyPast[7] 1567-1665
1726-1771
1812
ParishRegister
Transcription
Society
[8]
1567-1934 FindMyPast[9]
1731-1879 OnlineParishClerks 1646-1837 Joiner[10] 1731-1880 OnlineParishClerks
1651-1771 FindMyPast[11]
1771-1836 OnlineParishClerks
1813-1837 FindMyPast[12]

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241339. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Wilson, John M., Abbotsbury DorsetImperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870-72;
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., Abbotsbury (St. Nicholas), A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Accessed: 31 Jan. 2013.
  3. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  6. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  7. 'Dorset Baptism Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  8. 'Dorset,' Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 31 July 2012.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Dorset,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
  10. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 21 May 2012.
  11. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 21 May 2012.
  12. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 February 2013, at 18:54.
  • This page has been accessed 461 times.